Life on the Adriatic: Croatia Style.

Hello again! I am trying to stay as up to date as possible on these blog posts because I will actually be in a new city, new country in fact, every few days. Friday my group will leave Venice, where I am now to go to Milan, Italy for a night and then from Milan to Paris, France for a few days! After Paris (but really what can follow Paris… my goodness) We will be heading off to Switzerland! So I will be very busy from here on out. So, here is my post on Croatia! I spent 10 days in Lovran, Croatia in a hotel along the Adriatic Sea and it was glorious. So here is a short, brief, picture overview of my time in Croatia.

This is what I was welcomed to Croatia with… The sight of this man catching some sea life… Yuck.

Croatia 011

Then, Brooke, April and about 5 others went to dinner somewhere.

Croatia 027

And I got this awesome chicken…

Croatia 034

Then after dinner, naturally all of the boys found the water as quickly as possible, in fact our whole group ended up at the waterfront.

Croatia 058

So naturally, in November… We decided to go swimming in the sea.

Croatia 063

And we did just that.

Croatia 070

I got my first battle wound of the trip… cut my knee on a rock getting out of the water, well worth it though.

Croatia 075

That night this view occurred outside of my window… God is good.

Croatia 095

“Those who live at the ends of the earth stand in awe of your wonders. From where the sun rises to where it sets, you inspire shouts of joy.”

Psalm 65:8

Croatia 100

Then the next night, our whole group had dinner together and I tried mushrooms and I hate them…

Croatia 092

On a more exciting note, on the weekend we had there we all headed out on a day trip to Pula, which is a 2 hour bus ride from Lovran.

In Pula, there were some awesome ancient ruins to see like in the photo below

the Temple of Augustus, a tribute to the first Roman Emperor.

Croatia 157

Then Brooke, Laura, and I stumbled upon a small flea market happening…

Croatia 221

With some of the most unique things for sale… Like these pins.

Croatia 220

You don’t see stuff like this in America…

Croatia 219

Simon and Garfunkel ❤

Croatia 223

Eminem the American Ninja? Oh okay, I can’t believe I thought he was only a rapper.

Croatia 231

The man with the army jacket was the owner of this stand, his wife was working with them and they also had a friend helping. They had a collection of things from all over Yugoslavia, Bosnia, Croatia, Serbia, Slovenia, etc. They had pins, military medals, this tea set below that my friend Brooke bought.

Croatia 232

Then, after we purchased some things (I bought a nice camel colored leather wallet and some little metal tea cup things, Brooke bought the tea set and a small vase, a military medal and some other little things) We headed towards some more mainstream stores and stumbled upon a store called “Italian Fashion” and found the obsession with New York very evident.

Croatia 241

I was laughing out loud at some of this stuff…

Croatia 242

Then we kept wandering Pula until…

Croatia 234

We found their Colosseum…

Croatia 260

It was so beautiful.

Croatia 287

And it was the perfect time to be there.

Croatia 285

I could have sat in here all day.

Croatia 273

It made me feel so small, to be in a place that has been around for such a long time. Here’s some history on this beautiful structure. Straight from Wikipedia 😉

“The Arena is the only remaining Roman amphitheatre to have four side towers and with all three Roman architectural orders entirely preserved. It was constructed in 27 BC – 68 AD and is among the six largest surviving Roman arenas in the World. A rare example among the 200 Roman surviving amphitheaters.”

Croatia 272

Croatia 261

So anyways, I loved Croatia and the Adriatic Sea, and the Roman ruins and all the rest that I was able to get in the small town of Lovran but I was ready to move on by the tenth day. It was amazing to be able to sit along the Adriatic and do morning worship services with my classmates and then have class outside by the Sea! It was all truly incredible but my group was ready to move on. My group took a bus to Venice and so far I have loved it here! I will try to keep you guys posted on everything. Thank you for reading!

One comment

Leave a Reply

